Cégep de Saint-Laurent

Cégep de Saint-Laurent is a public French-language college located in the Saint-Laurent borough of the city of Montreal, Quebec. It is a few doors south of the English-language public college Vanier.

The college traces its origins to the merger of several institutions which became public ones in 1967, when the Quebec system of CEGEPs was created.

The college offers two types of programs: pre-university and technical. The pre-university programs, which take two years to complete, cover the subject matters which roughly correspond to the additional year of high school given elsewhere in Canada in preparation for a chosen field in university. The technical programs, which take three years to complete, applies to students who wish to be career-ready; however, many students choose to pursue a university degree. In addition, the Continuing Education Centre offers a wide variety of credit courses and programs with flexible scheduling.

Pre-university programs:

Usually, pre-university programs require four semesters (two years) to complete.

Double DEC programs:

Usually, Double DEC programs, which are considered special pre-university programs, require six semesters (three years) to complete.

Technical/Career programs:

Usually, technical and career programs require six semesters (three years) to complete.

Vanier College, which instructs students with general and technical programs, is affiliated with the Association of Canadian Community Colleges (ACCC), and Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA).

The college participates in the Canadian Colleges Athletic Association (CCAA).